Wanderlust3

– Wanderlust3 –

2.5.17

Here comes Julie, raving and ranting about traveling again. 😉

Have you ever traveled for an extended period of time? I’m not talking a week vacation to an all-inclusive beach resort. I’m talking about spending at least a month of your time in a random place of your choosing. If you haven’t, I highly suggest making it a top priority on your bucket list! It will change your life for the better, and will become a journey that you will never forget.

“The purpose of life is to live it, to taste experience to the utmost, to reach out eagerly and without fear for newer and richer experience.” -Eleanor Roosevelt

I chose not to spend the winter running around the globe this year, as some exciting new projects came into place (although some days as I sit in freezing cold, snowy, Jackson Hole, I seriously question this choice of mine). I did however take the month of October off in order to feed the little travel bug that is still buried deep inside of me. Per usual, I had an amazing time! I visited new places, crossed activities off of my bucket list, and connected with some seriously beautiful souls. I also got to visit some familiar places, and reconnect with people I hold dear and true in my life.

I spent a week in Portland, OR, a place I had never been, but heard great things about! Matt showed me all around, we went surfing, hiking, camping, on a tandem bike brewery tour (even after solemnly swearing never to get on another tandem bike after Matt crashed us into a pole almost a decade ago…). I got to attend “Divine Play,” a weekend long AcroYoga event which completely got me hooked on this new sport! Portland proved to be even better than people talked it up to be. I then made my way down to Costa Rica, a country that holds a huge piece of my heart! I spent a week at “The Retreat Costa Rica,” eating the most wonderful, natural food one could imagine! The love and passion that the chefs at this retreat put into each dish was outstanding! I spent the week doing yoga, reading, and relaxing. If you’re looking for a place to truly disconnect and recharge, “The Retreat Costa Rica” is it! After my Retreat I made my way down to the town of Puntarenas, where I studied abroad Spring of 2013. I spent a few days hanging out with mi familia tica, my Costa Rica Family. I am so grateful that the Gabuardi family welcomes me with open arms and that we have been able to stay connected despite the distance. ❤

IMG_7315.jpg

After time well spent in Costa Rica, I jumped on another airplane and headed to Belize! I found my beautiful blonde friend Aimee in the baggage claim area, I can’t even begin to explain the excitement that was brewing. Another adventure on the horizon! We spent a good amount of time on Caye Caulker, meeting new people, hanging out at “The Lazy Lizard” located at the split, eating delicious sea food and drinking tasty cocktails. This tiny island has no motor vehicles, only a few golf carts cruising around. The water was breathtakingly turquoise and the locals were all extremely friendly. We got to do yoga, canoe, snorkel, paddle board, swim, sunbathe, disconnect, and truly enjoy this special time away. We then spent 3 days sailing along the coast with Raggamuffin tours, absolute highlight of our trip! After sailing we hopped into Guatemala for a few days. We went caving (seriously unreal caves!), checked out Tikal, an ancient Mayan Ruin, rode around in tuk tuks, and enjoyed the savory street food, yum! Our time was pretty limited in Guatemala, but I’m sure someday we will be back!

IMG_7606 (1).jpg

Editing videos always takes so much longer than expected! Especially with a month of raw footage. Even though it’s a pain, I believe the time is well spent and I am excited to have these little video edits to look back on! That being said, below is my edit from this last trip. Enjoy! 🙂

Go confidently in the direction of your dreams! Live the life you’ve imagined. – Henry David Thoreau

Leave a Reply

