Bliss ❤️

Bliss ❤️10.18.16

Talk abut being thankful! I seriously can’t get over how incredible this life is. Each day is a new day, a new beginning, and can be anything you make it. “This means, at least on some level, what we believe governs what we see – though nobody is yet certain how much or how little of this is going on. Which means that belief governs perception, what shapes reality or, as some consciousness researchers now believe, is synonymous with reality and thus our reality – what we think of as the real world – is nothing, quite literally, beyond what we believe.” -Steven Kolter in “The Rise of Superman.” You are in charge of your reality, choose to make it a great one!

I’m grateful that I live in a time where I can work multiple different jobs, exploring my options until I find something I’m incredibly passionate about. This last summer I worked for Medicine Wheel Wellness, a center created for holistic healing, learning that each body heals differently and it’s important to figure out what works well for you. I worked for Wyoming Whiskey, which taught me to be pretty witty and tried my hand at sales. I also learned that when you walk up to a bar and ask for a glass of whiskey neat, the dude next to you will usually turn, give you an perplexed look, and either fist bump you or buy your drink, haha. I taught yoga, which helped to deepen my own practice, keep me mindful and present, and help others feel healthier and more alive in their own skin. I did books for a chiropractor which reminded me of how much I like paying attention to detail and staying organized. My chiropractor has also personally solidified the fact that you shouldn’t spend time doing things you hate (he absolutely HATES doing books) and hire someone who doesn’t hate it because the job will most likely be done better, and precious time and energy won’t be wasted. 😉 

One of my biggest struggles, yet eye opening experiences this summer was…. You guessed it! Getting wrecked on my wakeboard…. AGAIN!! This sport has so much of my heart, but also absolutely wrecks my body. First ride out of the year, I ate it, and tore my plantar fascia. So bummed. Another summer down the drain. (Even now, 5 months after the injury, it still hurts sometimes to walk, and running is definitely out of the question). After having hip surgery from crashing on my wakeboard in 2013, I made it a priority to be healthy and strong before riding, but even that didn’t keep me from getting hurt again. I can’t even list all of my friends that have been under the knife or concussed badly from wake boarding (just about everyone I know!). It’s so hard to decide whether or not it’s worth riding again, because the feeling you get while you’re on the water or upside down in the air is pretty unparalleled. 
  Photo credit: Andy Guillinta

As sad as I was, getting hurt allowed me to work hard this summer and take time off again this fall. And, as most things in life, when one door closes, another is opened. The door that opened this time around was AcroYoga. I’ve had a blast playing around with this sport so far! 
  

 Photo credit: Kelby Strohm

AcroYoga is the combination of acrobatics, yoga, and healing arts. It is a partner based practice, which is what makes it so exiting. AcroYoga helps to build strength, flexibility, balance, and mental focus. It’s a fun way to exercise and create art at the same time. It is also an incredible communication, trust, and teamwork builder. There is a therapeutic side of AcroYoga as well that incorporates Thai Massage and therapeutic flying. I believe we all desire, as humans, some sort of connection with one another, and AcroYoga definitely provides a safe, fun connection. 

One of my favorite parts of AcroYoga is that it puts me in the “flow state” that I so often desire. One of my favorite feelings is being in that exact moment where literally nothing else matters and I almost feel like I don’t even exist. “The best moments in our lives are not the passive, receptive, relaxing times… The best moments usually occur if a person’s body or mind is stretched to its limits in a voluntary effort to accomplish something difficult and worthwhile.” ~Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi. Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi discovered that people find genuine satisfaction during a state of consciousness called Flow. In this state they are completely absorbed in an activity, especially an activity which involves their creative abilities. During this “optimal experience” they feel “strong, alert, in effortless control, unselfconscious, and at the peak of their abilities.” It is truly a creation of art, and I’m excited to see where it takes me. 

As for the final thoughts on this blog, as many of you already know, I’m OBSESSED with traveling! No matter how often society tells me (or sometimes I tell myself) that I need to settle down, get a real job, and have some stability in my life, I know that I’m not ready for it. I just read the Alchemist for the first time (why I have not read this book before?) but the boy asks the Alchemist, “Why should I listen to my heart?” To which the Alchemist replies, “Because you will never again be able to keep it quiet. Even if you pretend not to have heard what it tells you, it will always be there inside you, repeating to you what you’re thinking about life and about the world.” I know for a fact that if I was to ignore my desire to travel, learn about new cultures, and experience the world, that my heart would be unhappy. Every time I leave the country I am incredibly humbled and reminded of how much I truly have. I get this unexplainable feeling when I am out of my comfort zone, and if you ask me, it’s not a terrible thing to be addicted to (although my bank account may disagree). 

I also know that my leaving every few months hurts some of the incredible people in my life, which makes me sad, and is truly the last thing that I want to have happen. “The world’s definition of dreaming is often incredibly selfish. It involves ignoring everyone you know and love. Working on some private passion in the depths of your basement. Going off on an adventure without anyone else. And then weeks later letting people know you’re not dead.” -Jon Acuff in “Start: Punch Fear in the Face, Escape Average, and Do Work That Matters.” I have definitely felt very similar to this while I pursue my dreams, and it hurts, but I refuse to live an average life, doing something I don’t love, always dreaming of what could have been. So I want to thank those of you who have supported me fully as I follow my dreams and shoot for the stars.✨❤️

“Love her but leave her wild” -Atticus 
  

 

One thought on “Bliss ❤️

  1. Your words, full of experiential wisdom, go beyond the brain and hit the heart in a beautiful, moving way. No doubt because they come from the heart. Reminding me that at the core we’re all emotional creatures. So props Ju, for tapping into those emotional instincts and doing what feels right. Get after those stars!

    Like

Leave a Reply

